61st edition | From 18 to 26 may 2022

Submissions deadline : March 18th 2019

The deadline for short and feature films submissions is extended to March 18th, 2019 !

Previous film selections from La Semaine de la Critique have played a major part in bringing to public attention the first films of Julia Ducournau (RAW), Hubert Charuel (BLOODY MILK) or César Augusto Acevedo (LAND AND SHADE | Caméra d’or) or Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt (DIAMANTINO | Nespresso Grand Prize) and second films from Oliver Laxe (MIMOSASNespresso Grand Prize) or Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa (GABRIEL E A MONTANHA | France 4 Visionary Award and the Fondation Gan Prize).

When it comes to short films, having their work selected at La Semaine de la Critique gives directors the opportunity to not only show their films in Cannes, but also to take part in December in the Next Step programme. During the week-long workshop, the filmmakers benefit from professional support in the development of their feature films. 

For this 2019 edition, Artistic Director Charles Tesson, will be working alongside feature and short film selection committees made up of critics and journalists from the French Union of Film Critics. The feature film committee is composed of Danielle Attali, Ava Cahen (Frenchmania), Bruno Deruisseau (Les Inrockuptibles), Clémentine Dramani-Issifou (Africultures) and Olivier Pélisson (Bande à Part).The short film committee, as always, lead by Léo Soesanto (Libération), is composed of Thomas Fouet (Les Fiches du cinéma), William Le Personic (Positif) and Nanako Tsukidate (Nobody Magazine).

Read the film submission's regulations

Feature film regulations

Short film regulations