Opening of film registration & Selection Committees

63rd Semaine de la Critique

For this 2024 edition, Artistic Director Ava Cahen, will be working alongside feature and short film selection committees made up of critics and journalists from the French Union of Film Critics. The short film committee is coordinated by Marie-Pauline Mollaret. The follow-up of the films in production and relations with industry professionals is overseen by Thomas Rosso, Program Manager, Rémi Bigot, Head of the film department and Juliette Canon, in charge of short films (film department).

Ava Cahen
Artistic Director

Ava Cahen has been the Artistic Director of La Semaine de la Critique since the 61st edition. Beforehand, she was a member of the feature film selection committee from 2016 to 2021. Since 2017, she has been running the website and the biannual film magazine FrenchMania. She is also a commentor for the TV programme "Le Cercle" on Canal + and "Le Masque et la Plume", a radio programme broadcast on France Inter. She has published several books on cinema and series and has participated in many juries in festivals and labs such as the Jerusalem IFF Lab, Morelia IFF, Busan IFF, Marrakesh IFF's Atlas Workshops, Champs-Elysées Film Festival to name a few.

Photo © Aurélie Lamachère

Feature Films committee

Short Films committee

Marie-Pauline Mollaret

Marie-Pauline Mollaret is a film critic for the magazines Bref, L'Avant-Scène Cinema and Ecran Noir. She works as programmer and is a member of the selection committees of Annecy International Animated Film Festival (End Studies Film) and the PIAFF - the Paris International Animation Film Festival (Young audience and experimental competition). In addition, she co-hosts Bulles de rêves program of Radio Libertaire dedicated to animation cinema and takes part of Les Couleurs de la toile movie club's organization at the parisian theater Les 3 Luxembourg. For the past 6 years, Marie-Pauline was on the short film selection committee of La Semaine de la Critique and became its coordinator in 2022.