Prizes awarded by the jury of la Semaine de la Critique

Nespresso Grand Prize

The Nespresso Grand Prize is awarded by the jury of La Semaine de la Critique to one of the seven feature films in competition. Nespresso are awarding €15,000 to the winning director. For the tenth consecutive year, Nespresso supports emerging talents by collaborating with the Grand Prize of La Semaine de la Critique. This underlines Nespresso's commitment to creativity through their longstanding support for new talent. Since 2011, the Nespresso Grand Prize went to: Jeff Nichols for Take Shelter (2011), Antonio Méndez Esparza for Aquí y Allá (2012), Fabio Grassadonia and Antonio Piazza for Salvo (2013), Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy for The Tribe (2014), Santiago Mitre for Paulina (2015), Oliver Laxe for Mimosas (2016), Emmanuel Gras for Makala (2017), Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt for Diamantino (2018) and Jérémy Clapin for I Lost My Body (2019).

Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film

The Leitz Cine Discovery Prize will be awarded by the jury of La Semaine de la Critique to one of the ten short and medium-length films in competition. Since its creation in 2003, the Discovery Prize has revealed numerous innovating filmmakers such as Juliana Rojas, Marco Dutra, the H5 collective, Guillaume Gouix, Gitanjali Rao, Damien Manivel, Jonas Carpignano, Fulvio Risuleo and more recently and more recently Wregas BhanutejaLaura FerrésJacqueline Lentzou and Qiu YangFor the fifth year, Leitz is partner of La Semaine de la Critique and supports the new generation of promising directors with the Leitz Cine Discovery Prize. The winning filmmaker receives an endowment of €4,000.

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award

For the third year, La Semaine de la Critique Jury will give the Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award to an actor or actress from one of the competition's seven feature films. This prize rewards the performer's work in one of their first appearances on the silver screen or in a particularly remarkable performance in their career. In 2018, Félix Maritaud received the award for his role in the feature film Sauvage, and in 2019, it was Ingvar E. Sigurðsson for the movie Hvítur, Hvítur Dagur (A White, White Day). Always keen to support emerging talents, the Louis Roederer Foundation pursues its commitment alongside La Semaine de la Critique as the sponsor of this €5,000 prize awarded to the winner.

Awards given by our partners

GAN Foundation Award for distribution

The Gan Foundation for Cinema will grant, within La Semaine de la Critique, an award to help distribute a first or second feature film in France in the hope of promoting new filmmakers. This Award for Distribution proves the unwavering support of the Gan Foundation for emerging talents and is given to the French distributor of one of the seven feature films in competition. The winning distributors will receive €20,000 all tax included and in return they will have to come up with one or several marketing strategies for the film release. For more than 30 years, the Gan Foundation for Cinema has accompanied the artists from the writing stage through the screening of their films in cinemas. It rewards ambitious and original feature films, both fiction and animation. Corporate Foundation of Gan Assurance, the Gan Foundation is one of the most important private sponsors for French cinema.

SACD Award

The SACD (Authors Society) supports festivals that promote new authors like La Semaine de la Critique through the funds generated by the private copy. The SACD Award is given to one of the seven feature films in competition. The winning author will be awarded €5,000. The jury is made up of filmmakers that are members of the board of directors of the SACD.

Canal + Award for short film

The Canal+ Award is given to one of the ten short and medium-length films in competition by the Short and Creative Programmes at Canal+. They buy the rights for the winning film to screen it on TV. Since its creation in 1992, the Canal+ Award has led to the screening of short films by Chris Landreth, Bill Plympton, Denis Villeneuve, Daniel Joseph Borgman, Gaëlle Denis or more recently Antoine de Bary, Aleksandra Terpińska or Elias Belkeddar.

Other Award

The Caméra d'Or

Created in 1978, the Caméra d'or award goes to the best debut feature presented in either the Official Selection, the Directors' Fortnight or La Semaine de la Critique. The prize is awarded during the Festival’s Closing Ceremony by the president of the dedicated jury. In 2019 , César Díaz joined the list of La Semaine de la Critique’s directors winners of the Caméra d’or with Nuestras Madres (Our Mothers).