Semaine de la critique

_home > _edition 2015

Archives of the 2014 selection


La Semaine’s Artistic Director and selection committee members are all journalists and film critics, appointed by the Board of the French Union of the Film Critics.

The 54th edition’s line-up will be announced at the end of April 2015

Charles Tesson – Artistic Director
A film critic, Charles Tesson wrote several important books on cinema and has been teaching at La Sorbonne for years. Editor of Les Cahiers du Cinéma from 1998 to 2003, he is still working with them.He entered the Selection Committee of La Semaine de la Critique for the 49th and 50th edition and has been nominated as Artistic Director in April 2011.


Feature Films:

Ariane Allard: journalist and film critic, she was in charge of the Cinema Department at La Provence newspaper for 10 years. Member of the Positif ‘s editorial board, reader for the CNC, she also published two books. She’s now working as free-lance in Paris, regularly for Band à part digital magazine. She’s been member of the Semaine’s committe since 2013.
Thomas Baurez: Thomas first had a professional experience in production of short and feature films, then in distribution. He starts working as a journalist and film critic around 2004, collaborating with Studio Magazine and then with StudioCineLive. He enters the feature film committee for the first time.
Xavier Leherpeur: Xavier has been working for Studio Ciné Live since its creation in 1997. He’s part of the Canal+ shows “Le Cercle” and “La Matinale”, and the France Inter show “Le Masque et la Plume”. First time member of the Selection Committee in 2008, and then from 2011 to 2013, he’s back to work on the new selection this year.
Annick Peigné-Giuly: Journalist and writer, she has worked for the newspaper Libération from 1982 to 2006. She has been a member of the magazine Images documentaires editorial selection committee since 1999. In 2001, she directed a radio documentary for Colette Fellous' show "Carnet nomade" on France Culture. She enters the Semaine’s committee in 2013.
Olivier Pélisson: He has collaborated with Zurban magazine, Monsieurciné, DvdLive as a journalist and film critic. He’s now working for Bande à Part web magazine, et LeCiné He’s part of the selection committee for the first time.
Léo Soesanto: A film Critic and blogger for Les Inrockuptibles, Léo has been part of the committee in 2009 during 3 years. After a one-year-break, he enters the selection committee again for 2013 edition. He’s also Bordeaux International Film Festival’s Director of programming.

Short Films:
Fabien Gaffez (Coordinator): A film critic for Positif, Film History and Esthetic teacher, he wrote several books on cinema and is the Artistic Director of the Amiens International Film Festival. Member of the selection committee for feature films in 2009, he enters the committee for short films and becomes its Coordinator in 2014.
Iris Brey: Iris is a film and Tv series critic. Teacher in Cinema and Literature at the New York University French Campus, she’s also deputy editor of Tess Magazine. She joins the short film selection committee in 2014.
Pierre-Simon Gutman: Deputy editor of the French magazine L’Avant-Scène Cinéma, he is a member of several editorial committees, including Les Fiches du Cinéma, and has written for Éclipses and Trois Couleurs, among others. He also teaches History of cinema at the ESRA Film School in Paris. Member of the Semaine’s selection committee for feature films from 2008 to 2010, he enters the short film committee in 2014.


Film scouting and relations with the industry are still handled by Rémi Bonhomme, Program Manager, and Hélène Auclaire, Head of the Film Department.

Semaine de la Critique - Syndicat Français de la Critique © 2015    
Tumbler Youtube Twitter Facebook